ENGAGING TRAININGS: ONLINE & IN-PERSON

Fortin Consulting provides sustainable practices training for personnel working in any aspect of the outdoors industries, especially landscaping and snow and ice management. Our classes are always live and never recorded, which allows your crew and supervisors the opportunity to learn from our knowledgeable industry co-instructors and their peers and co-workers in the room.

Contact Connie Fortin if you’re interested in setting up a specialized training session specifically for your organization.

Winter Maintenance and MPCA Smart Salting Trainings

Training sessions are tailored specifically for attendees, but topics covered always include:

  • Environmental Impacts
  • Snow and Ice Best Management Practices
  • Tools and Resources for Winter Maintenance

Roads

Parking Lots and Sidewalks

Property Management

Bring your municipal public works crews, supervisors, and stormwater staff to improve and practice winter maintenance knowledge for high and low-speed roadways. Private Snow Removal Companies and Parks Departments alike use this class to examine pedestrian and mixed-use environments. Management and maintenance personnel for residential and commercial complexes, healthcare and educational institutions, and elsewhere use this class to buff up on their winter maintenance knowledge.

Level 2 Smart Salting

Training for upper-level personnel. Use the Smart Salting Assessment tool to assess maintenance practices, track operational changes, and become MPCA Level 2 Smart Salting Certified at an organization-wide scale.

Low Impact Turfgrass Maintenance Training

Nutrient Management

Mowing and Landscaping Practices

Pest Control

Soil testing and precise fertilizer application to maximize your practices while minimizing your impact on local waterways. Encourage turf health by adopting these outdoor design and maintenance principles. Chemical and biological methods for control of weeds, including crucial perspectives on timing for effective management.
We are working to have this class listed for Pesticide Applicator Recertification by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Below you’ll find links to all of the upcoming trainings we have scheduled that are open to public registration. You’ll find lively discussion and valuable lessons whether your training is in an easily accessible online format or held in-person.

All of our trainings can help you better serve your customers and your budget all while securing environmental quality. Please, reach out to the listed contact person to learn more and enroll today!

Training Schedule

All Minnesota Smart Salting Classes are listed in calendar format on the MPCA website. Click here for the most up-to-date MN schedule.

For Turfgrass trainings, click here.

Date

Topic & Format

Contact Person

Host Organization

September 21, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – Online Abby Moore – AMoore@mwmo.org MWMO
September 21, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online Amy Bakkum – abakkum@rpbcwd.org RPBCWD and NMCWD
September 23, 2021 Smart Salting for Property Management – Online Karina Heim –karina.heim@wisc.edu MN Coastal Program and the Lake Superior Reserve Coastal Training Program
September 28, 2021 Training for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online ncinatl@theconservationfoundation.org abartolai2@lakecountyil.gov The Conservation Foundation
September 30, 2021 Training for Roads – Online ncinatl@theconservationfoundation.org abartolai2@lakecountyil.gov The Conservation Foundation
October 5, 2021 Training for Roads – Online ncinatl@theconservationfoundation.org abartolai2@lakecountyil.gov The Conservation Foundation
October 6, 2021 Smart Salting for Property Management – Online Alicia Lang Crow Wing Soil and Water Conservation District
October 7, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – Online Angela Bourdaghs – angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us MPCA
October 7, 2021 Training for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online Nancy Cinatl – ncinatl@theconservationfoundation.org

Alana Bartolai – abartolai2@lakecountyil.gov

The Conservation Foundation
October 12, 2021  Training for Roads – Online ncinatl@theconservationfoundation.org abartolai2@lakecountyil.gov The Conservation Foundation
October 12, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – In-person Wisconsin Saltwise
October 13, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – In-person wisaltwise@gmail.com Wisconsin Saltwise
October 14, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks Angela Bourdaghs – angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us MPCA
October 19, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – In-person Landon Profaizer – lprofaizer@wcwrpc.org West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
October 20, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online Abby Moore – AMoore@mwmo.org  MWMO
October 25, 2021 Training for Parking Lots & Sidewalks Kris Stepenuck – kstepenu@uvm.edu University of Vermont Extension
October 26, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – Online wisaltwise@gmail.com Wisconsin Saltwise
October 27, 2021 Smart Salting for Roads – Online Ben Scharenbroich – bscharenbroich@plymouthmn.gov City of Plymouth
October 28, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online wisaltwise@gmail.com Wisconsin Saltwise
November 2, 2021 Smart Salting for Property Management – Online Paula Liepold – paula.liepold@co.dakota.mn.us Dakota County
November 9, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks – Online Gael Zembal –  gzembal@ninemilecreek.org Ninemile Creek Watershed District
November 9, 2021 Smart Salting for WI Roads Workshop – In-person (Madison) wisaltwise@gmail.com Wisconsin Saltwise
November 10, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots and Sidewalks – In-person (Madison) wisaltwise@gmail.com Wisconsin Saltwise
November 17, 2021 Smart Salting for Parking Lots & Sidewalks Abby Moore – amoore@mwmo.org MWMO